Skip to content

Again with the giant TVs

December 27, 2007

Michelle Malkin recently ran a story about the public housing protest in New Orleans where she featured one protester in particular:

The “Shut up, white boy!” woman is the “slum” dweller with a 60-inch TV

So, does she look familiar? This Sharon Jasper is the same Sharon Jasper profiled in the New Orleans Times-Picayune sulking in her government-subsidized apartment with hardwood floors and HUGEtastic flat-screen television and complaining that it’s a “slum:”

1shutup3.jpg

img source: Michelle Malkin

What makes Sharon Jasper’s home a slum? In her own words:

Sharon Jasper, a former St. Bernard complex resident presented by activists Tuesday as a victim of changing public housing policies, took a moment before the start of the City Hall protest to complain about her subsidized private apartment, which she called a “slum.” A HANO voucher covers her rent on a unit in an old Faubourg St. John home, but she said she faced several hundred dollars in deposit charges and now faces a steep utility bill.

“I’m tired of the slum landlords, and I’m tired of the slum houses,” she said.

Pointing across the street to an encampment of homeless people at Duncan Plaza, Jasper said, “I might do better out here with one of these tents.”

Jasper, who later allowed a photographer to tour the subsidized apartment, also complained about missing window screens, a slow leak in a sink, a warped back door and a few other details of a residence that otherwise appeared to have been recently renovated.

Emphasis mine.

Looking at her list of complaints reminds me of a weekend to-do list of repairs for my home. Guess I live in a slum as well.

Again I can’t help but wonder how people who complain about not having money for food, utilities or basic home repair can somehow find a way to acquire these massive TVs. Seriously, I’d like to know since my 28″ CRT TV could stand a bit of updating.

Related: ABC’s Extreme Makeover Show

From → General, Politics

One Comment
  1. The sense of entitlement of so many people now-a-days amazes me. If you don’t like how your treated, get a job, take control of your life.

    Ten years ago I separated and got divorced. I had a low paying job because it allowed me the flexibility to come and go so I could pick the kids up from school and stay with them until their mom got home, etc.

    To get back on my feet, I continued to work full-time. Took a year’s worth of computer programming classes, sent out over 300 resumes and got a better job. After 7 years of apartment living, I could afford to buy a modest house. I’ve done some work on it, had others do some work on it and it still needs some done.

    My TV’s a 32″ CRT that I got at Wal-Mart when my smaller one died.

    People like Ms. Jasper and all the below prime mortgage “victims” piss me off. Make intelligent decisions, rectify your own mistakes and work for a living. You’ll learn to appreciate what you have and quit expecting handouts from people who earned what they’ve got.

Leave a Reply

