Skip to content

Thanks for deleting my comment

December 15, 2007

It makes me happy. as I’ve said before, it’s your site and you can run it as you like. However, when you delete a comment you don’t agree with, it only shows that that comment was so solid and correct, you realized you couldn’t refute it… you could only bury it.

So I’ll put my comment here.

Standing Cheese recently wrote an entry about the Baltimore bus beating incident. Berlow’s Freak Show comes along and takes a quote from the article completely out of context (and without properly noting his editing of the comment I might add) and posts the following:

Actually, Maryland is the richest state in America, recently edging out New Jersey for the top spot.

I suspect that Baltimore city blacks don’t benefit as much as suburban whites from Maryland having the highest median income in the nation.

Maryland has a wonderful public library system. Also, the proximity to the Nation’s Capital shouldn’t be overlooked. All of DC is on the Maryland side of the Potomac River, since Virginia took its half back around the time of the Civil War.

All I said in response was that Prince Georges County alone skews any ‘wealth’ statistics for the entire state. Have you been to Western Maryland Lately? The Eastern Shore? Definitely not the richest areas of America. I’m really not sure what caused him to remove my comment (as well as one from another commenter) but I do know it was posted after I wrote it only to have it disappear later.

In any case, I think it’s pretty safe to say that the I-95 corridor represents most of the wealth in the state of Maryland. Maryland is much, much more than that.

From → Politics

3 Comments
  1. The reason why I did not approve your comment (all comments on my blog are moderated- it never appeared in the first place, so it wasn’t deleted) is that it’s simply wrong. Anne Arundel County, Howard County, and Montgomery County are all in the top 100 richest counties in the US. Annapolis ain’t no slouch neither. I’m not sure where Prince George’s County fits in. The point is, as usual you just write whatever pops into your noggin without first doing your homework and getting the facts straight.
    I disagree that I took his comment out of context as well. Unless I reproduced the entire blog entry, anything would be “out of context”. The fact is, he was dissing Maryland. The part that I posted was pretty long, actually.
    Why are you always Cheese’s lapdog, anyway? Maybe you should take a clue from him and start thinking for yourself.

  2. For what it’s worth, I’ve approved your comment.

    As of the 2000 census, Maryland had four counties in the top 100 richest counties in America. Since Maryland being the richest state in America is based on a newer census, if anything Maryland is even better off now than then.

    Montgomery County #15
    Howard County #29
    Talbot County #71
    Anne Arundel County #83

    I think now Howard County would be in there somewhere.

  3. teambenyaland permalink

    Charles County Ranks in the top ten nationally according to the latest figures, I don’t recall seeing P.G. listed anywhere…

    http://somdnews.com/stories/08292008/indytop184818_32222.shtml

Leave a Reply

